Driving an uninsured vehicle is illegal.
Unless you’re in New Hampshire or Virginia, but let’s not muddy the waters. This is just a friendly reminder, because even in the other 48 states, more people than you’d think, do try to get by without auto coverage, thinking nothing is going to happen to them.
But things do happen.
It’s not exactly Murphy’s Law (“if something can go wrong, it will”) that we’re talking about here, but mishaps on the road
happen every day. Even if you have a great driving record, you can’t control
what other drivers do.
Even a fender bender can get expensive. But it’s not just
the repairs on your vehicle that we’re talking about.
If you aren’t insured, you may be prevented from suing for
pain and suffering and other things that cannot have a dollar amount assigned
to them. It is hard to say what a difference that can make until you are in
that situation, personally.
In Minnesota, if you drive without insurance you are looking
at a fine of up to $1000, 90 days in jail, license and registration suspension,
and having your car impounded. Getting it back is yet another expense you’ll face.
In Wisconsin it’s a little more lenient. Up to a $500 fine,
no jail time but you will have your license and registration suspended. No
In Iowa you’ll pay up to $250 but you will also lose your
license plates and your car will be impounded.
Not only that but if you have an accident while uninsured,
it will be exponentially more difficult to become insured when you want to. Rates
across the board for such people are known to be 50% higher or even double the
rate for an insured driver with a clean record.
After the fact, your best bet may be what is called High
Risk Auto Insurance, or Nonstandard Auto Insurance. So why not get insured
before this becomes an issue?
Call your nearest Horihan Insurance office today and we’ll
make sure you’re all set.